Who I was and Who I’ve become

I believe it’s a good thing to take the time to evaluate oneself. At one time I had a habit of doing this once in awhile and somehow got away from it. It is time to redevelop this habit. To sit back in a quiet spot and think about who I am. These are some questions I ask myself.
1. What is important to me?
2. Am I living what I believe?
3. Do I have a good outlook and attitude?
4. Do I have unconditional love?
5. What do people see when they look at me?
6. Do I make people feel good about themselves?
7. Do I show them Jesus?

It is so easy to get busy with our lives and forget to live the life we are meant to live. As I evaluate myself I find that I’ve become someone I don’t want to be.
1. complainer
2. uncompassionate
3. holding grudges
4. judgemental
5. easily aggravated
6. negative

These things may be subtle, unnoticable, or no big deal to some. However in my world it’s not ok.
I don’t want to be this person and I’m doing what I can to change. Mainly through prayer because God is the only one who can soften my heart and mold me to be who I am suppose to be.

  1. #1 by Pastor Curt on May 8, 2009 - 10:07 pm

    God continues to work in our lives by his Word and his Spirit to mold us into the people that he wants us to be… but we have to be willing to listen and to act.

  2. #2 by Gloria on May 8, 2009 - 10:15 pm

    It is good to examine ones life and make sure that the main thing/things are still the main thing/things. Little by little things can get rearranged until you find yourself off track.
    Very good questions. I think I shall borrow them šŸ™‚

  3. #3 by tjalexander on May 8, 2009 - 11:27 pm

    Pastor, thank you for your conformation of me doing the right thing.
    Gloria, sure use the questions but be prepared.

    I really don’t like who I’ve slowly become without realizing it . I don’t want to be this person. I also keep mentally adding to the list. I have found myself say “ah that should have been on the bad list too. Darn! another one!”
    *Sigh* So I continue to be a work in progress. Sometimes you just feel like you’ve taken several humongo steps backwards before you realize you’ve taken one.

  4. #4 by Gloria on May 9, 2009 - 4:46 pm

    the good news is though that God is right there to get us back on track. His mercies are indeed new every morning. He just keeps loving us.

  1. who is it that I am becoming? « Living Life in a Fish Bowl!

Leave a comment