Archive for February 17th, 2012

Skinny girl, Show thyself!

Today I took the plunge and went to the Pilates class that is offered two days a week at the fitness center. To be clear, my body looks nothing like the above picture. Perhaps the skinny girl trapped inside will look like this when I find her? Needless to say Pilates is a challenge. I got caught laughing a few times, and when I say laughing I really mean snorting in disbelief. Just as the swan of a teacher is having us do a move that I think may just kill me she then modifies it to make it even more difficult. I really tried not to react when disbelief struck. I worked hard to keep my mental “You’ve got to be kidding me!” to myself. In the end I was pretty darn proud of myself. I made it through the entire class, doing all the moves the best I could.

I’d say I did a mighty fine job by just going in the first place. The first step is always getting up and moving. Any type of exercise no matter how strenuous or for what amount of time still burns more calories than sitting on the couch. I would say Nike hit it on the head with their “Just do it” slogan.

Pilates is not my first attempt at exercise nor shall it be my last. I have been putting the fitness membership to good use for several months now. I want to encourage everyone out there who keeps telling themselves “I’ve got to start doing something” (or however you may phrase it) Do it! Just start. A little bit here, a little bit there. A food change here, a food change there. Every little bit helps and the more you do it the easier it becomes. I never thought I would look forward to going to the gym! At one time that would have gotten a “You’ve got to be kidding me” snort in response. I’ve progressed, you can too.

The search for the skinny girl trapped inside continues and good diet and exercise are the search team.

I will find her.

  Day 27 of 365

, , , , , , , ,

3 Comments